RW Mature Runners

4 lurkers | 12 watchers
1 Oct
3:15pm, 1 Oct 2024
49 posts
  •  
Aquarius
HS I meant to say I noticed you said your daughter had enrolled for the C25k, does this mean she will run as part of an organised group? The first time Steve did it (many years ago) he just printed off the instructions and followed them himself, I don't remember any option to enrol for a particular start date. Although a bit of self discipline is needed if doing it on your own it gives you a bit more flexibility about when you run, which running in a group would limit.
1 Oct
4:27pm, 1 Oct 2024
16,045 posts
  •  
hillstrider
Aquarius, good luck with this evenings 5k.

Yes, it's an organised group, with fixed start dates. My own club also runs C25k training for the beginners. The one my daughter is joining meets Thursday evenings and Sunday mornings. She has never run before, so will be an absolute beginner. I'm hoping that providing she completes the course, she will start doing parkruns. There is one that is held fairly close to wear she lives.
1 Oct
10:50pm, 1 Oct 2024
336 posts
  •  
OO61
Aquarius my wife was marshaling the GP tonight, said it was wild. I think she got offered the jab because of her cancer last year.

Swim and run today. I hate tapers...
2 Oct
12:31pm, 2 Oct 2024
2,749 posts
  •  
WtnMel
Aquarius - yes, a bunch of blokes or a bunch of ladies .. difficult to choose ;) Seriously though, the pub singers group of men want £6 per evening (not including drinks presumably) and that's more than I would want to pay. Just some light drizzle for the coffee & chat walk so no problem there. You do exactly what I figured - I can wear the all black trainers with 'smart' trousers and nobody is likely to be any the wiser. Sounds like a short delay then before you can get your covid jab. Sounds like you need a dry-robe to wear after the race to warm you up and to change under.