Elderly parents or relatives to care for and/or worry about? This is the place for you.

1 lurker | 140 watchers
CK2
Oct 2023
9:06am, 27 Oct 2023
2,359 posts
  •  
CK2
Yes - bathroom breaks definitely need planning! Good call EP.
Oct 2023
9:08am, 27 Oct 2023
35,435 posts
  •  
Ness
I've no experience of taking an elderly person out but as a special school teacher I used to take wheelchair bound young people out on school trips. Your plans look ok but will your dad be able to manage without a toilet stop while out? If not are there accessible toilets he'll be able to get to? Is there a "changing places" public toilet in Paignton?
Hope it goes well if you do go ahead with the visit. It sounds like a lovely idea for him.
Oct 2023
9:09am, 27 Oct 2023
35,436 posts
  •  
Ness
Ah. X post with EP.
Oct 2023
9:27am, 27 Oct 2023
3,006 posts
  •  
Big_G
CK2, I will speak to the taxi firm about seeing if I can call them back earlier than 1pm if I need to. Thanks.

Regarding loo breaks, he has a catheter (long story about why he has one of those…), but number 2s could be an issue. At home, he cannot get to the loo as he is not strong enough, and he wears nappies (sorry, I know that’s not what they’re called, but I don’t actually know their proper name). I know an accident could be embarrassing for him when out though. He is not able to do anything on his own so getting into a public loo is a nonstarter, both for me (I am not ‘hands on’ in that way), and also for him. This indeed could be a stumbling block!

(Forgot to say, I checked yesterday and there is a long, wide but fairly shallow ramp up to the cafe I’m thinking about, so that is a good thing as well).

I think I may need to speak to him, lay out how it could work, what any potential problems are regarding loos etc, and see what he says before booking anything.
Oct 2023
9:29am, 27 Oct 2023
12,395 posts
  •  
lammo
Great idea Big G, could you do a dry run on your own, just to go through how its going to work?
Oct 2023