•  
Daft Vader
Surely not mad, just different opinion?
Dec 2019
5:35pm, 5 Dec 2019
1,674 posts
  •  
Zorba
Different opinions not allowed on this thread ....
Dec 2019
5:35pm, 5 Dec 2019
6,949 posts
  •  
Too Much Water
I thought Chris posted a different prediction every day, each contradicting the last in a subtle way. I wonder if he’s a pollster by profession
Dec 2019
5:41pm, 5 Dec 2019
22,948 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
I've pretty much given up hope. I think the Tories could well be on for a landslide, with Labour getting <200 seats. I'd like to think that Scotland and tactical voting would somewhat take the edge of a win like Blair got in 1997 but I am not confident.

Labour replaced Foot with another "man of the Left" after the shellacking they got in 1983 and it took a long time for Kinnock to get them back to something approaching electability again.

Given the current state of affairs in the Labour party I think they will take a similarly long period of time to move back to the centre left. The next 10 years will all be about how much the Tories fuck things up rather than how Labour wrest back power again, because I genuinely think they have drunk the Corbyn Kool-Aid and they will be out for another 10 years now. They'd rather be principled in opposition than go down the route of compromise and pragmatism that is necessary to take the unpalatable edges off their policy positions which make them unelectable.
Dec 2019
5:47pm, 5 Dec 2019
22,949 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
But of course, I could be utterly wrong. I'll just say that Blair's lead over Major in 1997 was 12.5 points and he got 418 seats... the Tories got 165.

I fear for the future if the Tories win by that amount. They will be able to do anything they like, including re-modelling the constitution to suit their own ends.

I do think the shit will hit the fan massively if they aim squarely for a cliff edge in December though. It could bring them down - but probably won't.