Working From Home

30 watchers
Dec 2020
10:12am, 28 Dec 2020
967 posts
  •  
Muttley
I guess that if we're wfh then it's likely to be computer-based. So the key thing is to have ergonomically comfortable working conditions - eg a proper workstation and chair, not being hunched over a laptop at the kitchen table. If you're employed, as opposed to self-employed, then (I think - check if this matters to you) that your employer retains a duty of care and might be expected to chip in with the costs of setting up for wfh. H&S and all that. And look out for equal treatment and no discrimination if there are cuts and selections for redundancy - you might not be physically present in the office but you still have rights.

Also, I think it's important to be clear about output targets and supervision. I make sure that I get my work done a little ahead of deadline (I'm a translator), taking breaks as needed. And I'm firm with my managers (who are in the US) -- contact is best via the company chat board, you can call me via Zoom if you must (no cams), no you can't Whatsapp me because I don't have a smartphone (not entirely true ...).

But ultimately, I'm in the fortunate position of having a couple of occupational pensions and no debts so if really necessary I can just walk away.
Dec 2020
11:00am, 28 Dec 2020
1,227 posts
  •  
Snoot
Agree with Muttley about getting a decent set up, I was at a bureau at the start but have since ditched a spare bed and got a decent desk & chair (so like McG now have two desks, bureau is home and the desk is work).
Your employer is still responsible for making sure you've an appropriate DSE assessment for your 'work station', mine reset the date on our DSE assessments and added an additional WFH risk assessment to try to make sure people had decent set ups, certainly a lot of kit has been picked up from offices or sent out new!