Politics

34 lurkers | 212 watchers
4:59pm
4:59pm, 10 Oct 2024
25,781 posts
  •  
larkim
Tory Reform Group publicly declared support for "none of the above". And not because it can't choose between two excellent candidates....

A bold move, given it's members will soon have to pledge fealty to one of the two.

The centrists aren't quite as good at tearing the party apart as the RW nutjobs are, but they are setting out their stall already.
5:01pm
5:01pm, 10 Oct 2024
33,236 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
As a matter of fact it was the Bulwark Podcast, who are much closer to polling, polling cross-tabs and focus groups than you or I will ever be.

Funnily enough I do not have the time or the energy to analyse 538's methodologies and I doubt you have either, but I have had plenty of experience of statistical modelling and all models are only as good as the data that goes in and the assumptions made and applied by the modellers - so I added a caveat, which you have actually agreed with, but as usual you get on your high horse.

I can see you are being cantankerous again so I'm bowing out.
SPR
5:03pm
5:03pm, 10 Oct 2024
46,390 posts
  •  
SPR
They won't have to swear fealty, they just won't have any top jobs. That's quite fine if they believe neither of these two is likely to succeed in the medium term.
SPR
5:06pm
5:06pm, 10 Oct 2024
46,391 posts
  •  
SPR
Of course, depending on how the party treats them, they might end up without the whip. They will need to be some controversial vote where they feel they can't vote with the party to force that in all likelihood.
5:09pm
5:09pm, 10 Oct 2024
23,204 posts
  •  
rf_fozzy
The Bulwark, as former Republican political operatives and voters, are not neutral in the argument though.

Tim Miller et al have significant skin in the game - and they have been bullish on Harris for a while. Partly out of their complete dislike for Trump.

Thus they have a tendency to underestimate some factors. And overinflate others.