Elderly parents or relatives to care for and/or worry about? This is the place for you.

2 lurkers | 140 watchers
jda
Sep 2023
11:31am, 25 Sep 2023
15,481 posts
  •  
jda
Does the mother have the mental capacity to remove him from the PoA? (Even if that’s a marginal call so long as he didn’t try to oppose it would probably go through.) Tempting to just hope it will work out ok but there’s a risk it won’t…
Sep 2023
11:45am, 25 Sep 2023
22,069 posts
  •  
larkim
If it's a joint (rather than joint and several) appointment I think the whole PoA process would have to be restarted, wouldn't it, if just one of the attorneys was removed? (I am not a lawyer, I may be wrong!)

I'm assuming it is joint, as otherwise the joint and several would mean he didn't need to be involved in the first place. (Using English law as my touchpoint there, though, don't know if Scottish law would differ).
Sep 2023
11:56am, 25 Sep 2023
25,641 posts
  •  
Bazoaxe
It is a whole minefield and even if mil has capacity I think any moves to remove him would be challenged and that’s not somewhere we really want to go.

If he would just talk to us we could find common ground and make it work.
jda
Sep 2023
12:05pm, 25 Sep 2023
15,482 posts
  •  
jda
You can remove an attorney with a simple letter of revocation.

The situation is likely to get more difficult, not easier, as your MiL deteriorates and more stressful decisions have to be made.
Sep 2023
12:08pm, 25 Sep 2023
25,642 posts
  •  
Bazoaxe
That’s not something we want to do and mil if she wanted to would need to do do under her own steam.
Sep 2023
1:01pm, 25 Sep 2023
22,072 posts
  •  
larkim