Politics

5 lurkers | 212 watchers
11:30am
11:30am, 5 Oct 2024
33,209 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
Word salad?

Google "labour green prosperity plan pdf" and you will see 22 pages of detailed proposals.

All the info is there if you have the inclination to look for it.

labour.org.uk
11:36am
11:36am, 5 Oct 2024
33,210 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
theguardian.com

I'm no civil engineer but I'm betting land based wind farms have considerable advantages over offshore farms:
Cheaper
Quicker
Lower running costs
Less likely to be hit by a ship
11:37am
11:37am, 5 Oct 2024
33,211 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
It took them 4 days to announce that, the lazy buggers.
11:57am
11:57am, 5 Oct 2024
255 posts
  •  
Yakima Canutt
Johnny Blaze wrote:theguardian.com I'm no civil engineer but I'm betting land based wind farms have considerable advantages over offshore farms: Cheaper Quicker Lower running costs Less likely to be hit by a ship

Ah yes to most of that but.

Offshore windmills are much bigger. (1x extra length of span is about 4x extra power output).

Offshore wind blows harder and more consistently. That goes for the further offshore you go.

You can get more turbines in an array offshore.

Not sure about easier to build. There are pluses and minuses.

Consenting for offshore is likely to be easier.
12:05pm
12:05pm, 5 Oct 2024
33,212 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
Fair bag. Like I say I'm no civil engineer but we've had practically zero land based wind farms built in the last 8 years in England, which sounds mental to me because, you know, we are an island archipelago with quite a lot of coastline.

I'm pleased to see Friends of the Earth agree with me.
12:08pm
12:08pm, 5 Oct 2024
33,213 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
Ocean-based wind farms are generally more expensive to install than land-based wind farms:

Installation cost