Politics

3 lurkers | 212 watchers
28 Aug
7:17pm, 28 Aug 2024
11,541 posts
  •  
Fields
Not even going to bother responding to the borderline eugenicist.
28 Aug
7:22pm, 28 Aug 2024
32,968 posts
  •  
Johnny Blaze
It needs also to be said that families handed the jackpot of a seriously disabled child frequently end up on benefits as they cannot hold down a job at the same time as caring full time for a child (or partner or sister or parent). That's before considering what happens to marriages when a serious health event occurs.

Sorry to inject a dose of reality into the conversation.
28 Aug
7:26pm, 28 Aug 2024
4,882 posts
  •  
StuH
What a ^&$(, where's the kitten button?
28 Aug
7:30pm, 28 Aug 2024
50,795 posts
  •  
HappyG(rrr)
We're happy to have a discussion Dubairunner, but not if you just spout sh*te!

Informed arguments, backed up with reasonable sources please.

I've been putting nothing into pensions for 10 years desperately trying to pay off debts and mortgage, with a view to making large tax free pension contributions for a couple of years at the end of my working life. Errr, think I might fall victim to any such reduction / removal in tax free pension contributions or thresholds. Oh well.

As long as it's progressive, I don't mind. We need to encourage everyone to make minimal pension savings (a la Nest and auto enrolment) but we could massively reduce the annual threshold and total pot so that the super rich aren't able to use it for tax avoidance. I don't mind if I pay a bit more, as long as they pay a *lot* more!! :-) G
28 Aug
7:38pm, 28 Aug 2024
27,302 posts
  •  
Bazoaxe
Anecdotal evidence from a sample of one. A colleague of Mrs axe only works 16 hrs and asked why Mrs axe works 40 for the salary she gets when she could get more by doing 16 and claiming benefits. A situation that means people are incentivised not to work more isn’t good