Baking thread

1 lurker | 99 watchers
Jun 2020
5:52pm, 11 Jun 2020
6,549 posts
  •  
sallykate
Keep it somewhere warmer? Is it white flour - that can take a bit longer I think; my first one was wholemeal rye and it was good to go after five days (using Bake with Jack's no discard approach).

I'm no expert though. I think I just lucked out first time. I am using a white starter now which I made using the discard method. I was about to give up on it, didn't feed it for two days and then noticed it was lovely and bubbly so used it and chucked the rest in the fridge, where it sits ignored for a week between uses.
Jun 2020
8:15pm, 11 Jun 2020
8,441 posts
  •  
leaguefreak
Ok may be white flour and cold weather. I'll persist.
Jun 2020
8:19pm, 11 Jun 2020
3,103 posts
  •  
jacdaw
If you don't keep it warm enough you may end up with an odd ratio of yeast to bacteria. Try to keep it as near to 29* as possible, consistently.

Brown flour works better than white, but a mixture has advantages too. Organic flour seems to get going quicker.
Jun 2020
8:26pm, 11 Jun 2020
8,443 posts
  •  
leaguefreak
Bloody hell. I'll have to take the bugger on holiday. Have you ever been to the north of England?
Jun 2020
8:41pm, 11 Jun 2020
3,104 posts
  •  
jacdaw
I have an airing cupboard, or at least a spot on top of the hot water cylinder.

28 to 30 is a kind of perfect temperature where you are absolutely guaranteed to get decent results. Not saying it isn't possible at lower or fluctuating temperatures.

I live in Northumberland... so, yes.
Jun 2020
8:52pm, 11 Jun 2020
8,447 posts
  •  
leaguefreak
I'll put it back in the airing cupboard.
Jun 2020
8:57pm, 11 Jun 2020
23,257 posts
  •  
Lizzie W
Mine didn't like the white flour, I need to go to the other shop for decent flour.
Jun 2020
8:59pm, 11 Jun 2020
23,258 posts
  •  
Lizzie W
I have boiled the fruit - must remember to make it into cakes.
Jun 2020
9:06pm, 11 Jun 2020
1,740 posts
  •  
panad