The vaporfly thread

88 watchers
SPR
17 Jul
10:50am, 17 Jul 2024
45,246 posts
  •  
SPR
We already have that question answered for everyone over the last 6-8 years, lol.

If the shoe is pretty much no different from what you wear now (which is what the rules try to ensure now), I can't see any objection. The genie is out of the bottle and a rollback isn't happening.
J2R
17 Jul
10:57am, 17 Jul 2024
5,487 posts
  •  
J2R
No, SPR, I know the genie is out of the bottle. It's a while since I considered the issue and I realise I still haven't really come to terms with it yet. :)
SPR
17 Jul
11:18am, 17 Jul 2024
45,247 posts
  •  
SPR
Oh I still wish they were banned (eg no 40mm race shoes) and TBF my phrasing is based on a view others might see differently. I can't come up with a reasonable way to ban a 20mm shoes that had all the benefits of a Vaporfly. Despite that, this is my first year in superspikes.
17 Jul
11:24am, 17 Jul 2024
69,923 posts
  •  
Velociraptor
Another 5% relative to current supershoes? I think only if I was good enough for a 5% improvement in my marathon time to generate age group prizes at high profile races. As it is, I'd need a 30-40% improvement to even come close.

If the GFA time for my age tightened up so much that I'd need another 5% to have any chance of hitting it even with optimal training and a good run on the day, I'd give it serious consideration.
SPR
17 Jul
11:37am, 17 Jul 2024
45,248 posts
  •  
SPR
9% would get me close to sub 15 5000 if it translated to a pure improvement. I think if I was guaranteed that in a shoe I'd likely get them, of course there's no guarantee. If everyone else got that improvement I'd just stay the same but of course you'd want to stay the same in those circumstances.

It will be interesting to see if I see a decent improvement in the Streakfly 2 when that comes out.
SPR
17 Jul
11:41am, 17 Jul 2024
45,249 posts
  •  
SPR