Track & Field Fetchies

56 watchers
Jun 2008
12:14pm, 23 Jun 2008
315 posts
  •  
sLickster
Grrr - as it happens I got my first pair of spikes only last Monday :-) The reason being that I plan to do a number of 100m 400m 800m races this summer.

Firstly, not being an expert I went and saw an expert in the local running shop who basically took me through a load of different ones to find which would be most comfortable. As it turns out these were pretty much the same make/model as the 'racing flats' I had bought about 3-4 months ago. Which is relevant to this...

...I would say that for me, anything over for arguments sake 1500m/1 mile I would be happy to wear my 'flats' on the track (as I have done before I got the spikes), but anything classed as a sprint or shortish race I think the spikes gave a much bigger advantage. Looking at your intentions 800m+ and speed do you have a set of lightweight flats? If not then you may wish to consider either flats or spikes, but obviously that is for you to decide :-) Incidentally, I took about half a second off my 100m time at the weekend, must have been something to do with the new spikes ;-)
Jun 2008
12:22pm, 23 Jun 2008
285 posts
  •  
HappyG(rrr)
slickster, thanks too. i think i might stick with my road shoes for a bit (saucony omni grid 6) then. I don't think I'll be doing 100, 200 and 400m. Just fancied doing something shorter and faster than a marathon! Did one day training on the track with the club and it was great fun. But I don't think I'll be much faster than about 6:30 for a mile, so I'm not competitive at all. Just doing it for fun!

The only reason for thinking about spikes was that if I do have to run in them I assume they must feel very different to cushioned road shoes, so wanted to get the "feel" of them. But if they're really only for sub 1500m then I probably don't need them. Thanks again guys.
Jun 2008
12:23pm, 23 Jun 2008
2,323 posts
  •  
Rach E